Practical UNIX & Internet Security

Practical UNIX & Internet SecuritySearch this book
Previous: F.1 Professional OrganizationsAppendix F
Next: F.3 Emergency Response Organizations

F.2 U. S. Government Organizations

F.2.1 National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (formerly the National Bureau of Standards) has been charged with the development of computer security standards and evaluation methods for applications not involving the Department of Defense (DoD). Its efforts include research as well as developing standards.

More information on NIST's activities can be obtained by contacting:

NIST Computer Security Division A-216
Gaithersburg, MD 20899
+1-301- 975-3359

NIST operates the Computer Security Resource Clearinghouse:

NIST also operates the National Technical Information Service from which you can order a variety of security publications. See Appendix D for details.

F.2.2 National Security Agency (NSA)

One complimentary copy of each volume in the "Rainbow Series" of computer security standards can be obtained from the NSA. The NSA also maintains lists of evaluated and certified products. You can contact them at:

Department of Defense
National Security Agency
ATTN: S332
9800 Savage Road
Fort George Meade, MD 20755-6000
+1 301-766-8729

In addition to other services, the NSA operates the National Cryptologic Museum in Maryland. An online museum is located at:

Previous: F.1 Professional OrganizationsPractical UNIX & Internet SecurityNext: F.3 Emergency Response Organizations
F.1 Professional OrganizationsBook IndexF.3 Emergency Response Organizations